My super interesting life and forgetting my Dutch - Reisverslag uit Perth, Australië van Danielle van Balen - WaarBenJij.nu My super interesting life and forgetting my Dutch - Reisverslag uit Perth, Australië van Danielle van Balen - WaarBenJij.nu

My super interesting life and forgetting my Dutch

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Danielle

31 Maart 2014 | Australië, Perth

Hello family and friends!
The first thing that I want to say in this update is that from now on I will be writing them in English. I was a bit in denial until last Thursday when I was Skyping with mum, dad and Kevin. My Dutch is not what it used to be, and I was struggling for simple words. I tried to write this one in Dutch, but I had a busy couple of days and it was going to take me a long time if I wanted to write it... Enough excuses! I hope you enjoy my (very) long update!!

Kangaroos (3rd March)
We went to Pinnaroo and I saw my first wild kangaroos! Pinnaroo is a cemetery, but the graves are plaques instead of stones. The kangaroos basically live there, and walk around like no one is watching them. Also, the kangaroos are wild, but they are used to people going there so if you moved really slow you could come really close. They would hop away if you got too close, but they didn't really get aggressive. We went to the beach after and saw an amazing sunset with orange and pink skies.

International food festival in City of Perth (7th March)
A couple of weeks ago we went to the international food festival in the city. The city center was blocked by all the different stalls with different food from all over the world. There was Spanish, Colombian, French, Japanese, Chinese, Mexican, German, Australian and Turkish.

Cottesloe beach (16th March)
I went to Cottesloe beach to see ‘Sculptures by the sea’ with Marissa, who is my support person from AFS. We met up the week before, had chocolate overload at a chocolate bar next to her Uni and decided to go and see the sculptures in the weekend.

Ball (28th March)
Last Friday was my school ball :) I had a lazy morning, then got my nails done, make up done AND hair done! So spoiled haha. Katie was really nice and drove me around across Perth to go to all of the different places, and Bruce cleaned the car from all the sand that we take back home when we leave the beach.
We went to Anne’s for Pre’s (pre party where everyone meets everyone and their dates and where the party bus was picking us up). We arrived, took a heap of pictures and went into the party bus. The party bus was literally a bus, just transformed with a music station, seating rows and bright florescent lights. We took pictures at Kings Park with a beautiful view of the skyline. After taking the pictures we drove to the hotel where the ball would be taking place, the Pan Pacific Hotel in the city. Our bus driver couldn’t get in the right lane, so we ended up driving in a big circle around the hotel waiting for him to squeeze in. I had a great night, and it got better in the end when I was able to fully relax and enjoy everything that was happening. I took heaps of pictures with everyone that I wanted to take pictures with, so they will be up as soon as I get them :) I did have a date to the ball, but I think we both were able to enjoy ourselves more when we were dancing with other people. Overall, it was a really good night and I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way.

Road trip to Albany (29th and 30th March)
We left very early on Saturday morning to collect Adeline and make the drive down to Albany. For Adeline and me: a big drive. For Bruce and Katie: just 5 hours. We left around 7AM, and arrived in Albany at the BBQ from AFS at 2PM. Not too bad! The drive was nice and I was very surprised to see that the land changed so much in just a couple of hours. There were bits that looked a lot like France after the lavender has been taken off the land, and there were bits that looked like a desert. All close to each other. We made a stop in Williams, which is about 1/3 of the trip. I found out that I didn’t bring a jumper because Perth was still warm when we left, and I quickly found out that Albany would be a lot colder. We got a woollen cardigan and a hot chocolate and got back in the car. AS we were getting closer to Albany, the weather started to get worse. The wind was getting stronger and the rain was getting stronger as well. We got to the camp and met all (6) other exchange students. We all stayed in a big caravan together, which was a lot of fun. We played games, did some AFS exercises and roasted marshmallows on IKEA tea lights.
On Sunday it was still raining, but we went to the beach anyway. The waves there are a lot higher than in Perth, which was really funny to watch. We drove up to a sight seeing point where we could over look the beach, and when we went into the ANZAC memorial the sun stared shining and we had a great view over Albany. We went back to the camp and had too many lollies (candy) and packed up out stuff because parents were collecting us. It was a really fun weekend, and I hope we get to catch up really soon again!

After the camp, we drove to the Gap and the blowholes in Albany, where water blows out between the rocks and between two cliffs. We went to the blowholes first, and it was really cold and the wind was up because it was so close to the Indian Ocean. After that we went to the Gap and got absolutely soaked! I wanted to take a picture with the cliffs on both sides of the frame (instead of looking at one from the other cliff where a plateau was build) and Bruce went with me. Katie and Adeline were waiting for us at the plateau. Bruce stopped just a little before me, as I was determined to get to the middle. As I was taking pictures and talking to Bruce, there was a huge king wave coming towards Katie and Adeline. It was really big, and went higher than both cliffs. Katie and Adeline got drenched first, and Bruce and I turned our backs towards it trying to protect our cameras. A second wave came and again, we all got really really wet. This might have been one of the weirdest, funniest and coldest thing I have ever seen in my life.

Some small things that have been happening
- I found out that I am allergic to spider bites and mosquito bites. When I get them, I get really big red circles on my legs or arms and they will not stop itching for at least a week. Sadly, there is nothing we can do about it.
- I am taking heaps of pictures from almost everything around me. Both for Photography in school and for the memories. I am a bit sad that I didn’t get a photo of the king wave in Albany, but that imagine will be printed on my brain forever.
- May is going to be a good month this year as I will be seeing MKTO and 5 Second of Summer live :)
- I am becoming a true artist. I am working on my first painting in art at school.
- I am cooking and baking heaps with Katie. Rocky road, choc mud cake, date pudding, bread, nutella, jam. EVERYTHING (and all in the Thermomix)
- I have gotten used to the noise that the puppies make (walking and begging for food and attention) so much that it is quiet when they are not around.
- I ordered my leavers jacket from school, and I hope it will arrive soon because it is getting colder outside. (I know ‘colder’ is still hot for The Netherlands, it’s just that I have adjusted too quickly and I am cold when temperatures are below 25…)
- Had parent/teacher meetings last week. All the teachers that we spoke to were surprised to hear that my work here will be viewed when I get home but were also really happy to have me and thought I was a good student (On my way to becoming an A class student in Photography YES!) (26th March)
- I got a very nice package from Anne & Mireille two weeks ago with a lot of stuff from Hema (socks, nailpolish, pencils, a notebook, lollies and small clogs) (18th March)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Danielle

Volg mij tijdens mijn High School jaar aan de andere kant van de wereld!

Actief sinds 04 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 657
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8703

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2014 - 20 December 2014

High School year in Australia

Landen bezocht: