Travelling, Tattoo and Talking - Reisverslag uit Perth, Australië van Danielle van Balen - WaarBenJij.nu Travelling, Tattoo and Talking - Reisverslag uit Perth, Australië van Danielle van Balen - WaarBenJij.nu

Travelling, Tattoo and Talking

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Danielle

16 Oktober 2014 | Australië, Perth

Hi all!
I know it has been a long time since I have sat down and written an update. I was thinking of doing this in parts because this is going to be a very long update (I seem to be good at those!!) but if I want to keep writing I might as well upload it all and go into more detail later.

Exmouth
We went on a big road trip in the beginning of August up to the north of Western Australia. We stopped by Geraldton, Cervantes, Kalbarri, Denham, Monkey Mia, Coral Bay and Exmouth :) In short, 10 long days of driving but 10 days spent very relaxed enjoying the weather (and very cold pool at the Exmouth caravan park) and camping. We bought the tent on the morning that we left Perth, tied it to the trailer and off we went. We saw a lot of wildlife (the car got spotter lights after almost hitting a cow after sunset), humpback whales, beautiful coastlines, quad bike riding, and camel riding (with a Dutch owner) and had a good time doing it. As I said, we had a tent. We stayed in cabins as well when we arrived late, but I enjoyed the tent. Setting it up was easy, and most of the time in the dark because we were driving to the next places during the day.

Surfing
I started my second level of surfing lessons in September. It was one of the birthday gifts that Katie and Bruce got me for my 18th, along with a nice warm wet suit (and super snug hooded towel) and a nice dinner at Jamie Oliver’s Italian restaurant in the city. Adeline and I started surfing back in May because it was the ‘most Australian thing’ we could think off, and I had such a great time that I wanted to become better and better at it. As I am typing this I have 2 lessons left, lesson 9 and 10, and I have finally found why it is so hard for me to stay on my board. At the start of second level I started surfing on a fiberglass board (Level 1 is foam board) and in lesson 8 I found out that my left foot is too much to the side when it should be in the middle. Yes, it has taken me 3 whole lessons of 2,5 hour in the water to find that out… So with the two lessons left I know what I need to do! I haven’t gone surfing every weekend because I had other plans, so I am already excited to get back on the board. (Photographic evidence that I am the best surfer is still to come)

Finishing school
September was also the month that I finished Como Secondary College. The last day of school we had a big assembly (which is still something very new to me) and after that the other students formed a path that leads us to the car park where all year 12s got the change to sign each others shirts. After that some people went to the beach, but I went home and contacted universities *cough* NERD *cough*.
The challenge I set myself up for this year was to find what I want to do with my life. A question that was way too big to find the answer to when you become sick and priorities change, but I think that I am getting there! At the moment I am looking at some courses, but all of them so far are a combination of Management, Organization and Creative (entertainment or tourism).

Merredin
The last weekend of September I went to Merredin. James his parents have a farm there and that weekend they would be doing some of the shearing of sheep. I don’t think I have ever been on a sheep farm before in my life but I had a really good time. I got to help out with pretty much everything, was expected to open the gate because I was sitting in the passenger seat, which I think was fun to watch because I had to no clue on how to open it… Helping heard the sheep (experienced in that with the dogs hehe), and taking out the dirty bits of wool after they had been shown. I even had a go at shearing a sheep myself! It was nice to see that there is such a different way of life than it is in the city. I never really consider myself a city person, but I do like the chaos and noise that comes with it. But I do also like the quiet and space of towns.


Cheryl
Katie's parents left in the beginning of August, to catch up with friends and family in the Eastern States. When they left, we took in Cheryl (once Katie’s dog but now her parents’ dog). We knew that it was going to be a bit of a challenge because Barry and Clara see her as the top of the social ladder, and we would have to be aware of how sensitive she was being away from her home. (This is a 13 year old dog haha) Soon after she ‘moved in’, we found that she had taken a liking to underwear (eating it). As a result, we picked up the laundry and made sure that it was out of reach. Then, about two weeks later, Bruce found a piece of my retainers in the kitchen. We found 5 pieces, bitten apart and scattered around the house. The sixth one is still missing ;) I got emergency retainers made over the weekend (and slept with a beautiful orange sports retainers in the meantime) and was ready to go again by the Wednesday after. After the incident, I have not once forgotten to close and lock my door when I leave the house haha.



Upcoming events
Today I got my first tattoo. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to write about it, but I am just going to haha. I’ve been thinking about getting a tattoo for a couple of years now, but was never really sure what to get or where to get it. Then I settled on one, an angel wing. I would have liked to get it on my wrist, but because I’m not sure what job I will be working in I don’t want to risk getting denied because of it. The tattoo that I got says ‘‘the pain you feel today… is the strength you feel tomorrow’’ along with an anchor. It’s on my rib cage, as a reminder for myself.

Going into this exchange, I knew that I was going to face challenges and that I would need to solve them myself and that I would have to let people know when I wasn’t feeling like myself. I wouldn’t have my mum there to read my face and tell everyone that I was in a mood, or didn’t have my dad or Kevin to fight with them I was angry. That on its own was going to be hard. But when I got sick I felt like my world was becoming this big black space where I didn’t do anything but snuggle in bed with my blankets and watch crap all day. After I started feeling better and hanging out with friends again at school and after school, I realised that it wasn’t as bad to be here. Around the same time, Rosa got her tattoo to remind her of her exchange in Brisbane. I have always liked the idea of getting something tattooed as a reminder of good times, or a lesson learned. So about 2 months ago I was sitting in my room, looking at quotes that I liked. I loved ‘You never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have’. I wanted something to remind myself that I was strong (thank you to my counselor Claudia who has given me the major insight) and that I could handle more than I thought I was capable of. Then I scrolled past the final quote and my mouth fell open. THIS was what I’d been looking for. The anchor was decided on way before that ;)
So off to the #1 tattoo shop in Perth, to get a quote and book an appointment!

Whilst I was getting the tattoo done it honestly didn’t hurt. It was a bit strange to get used to the feeling at first, but to me it kind of felt like the drill at the dentist. Which I realise now is weird that I don’t mind it. Some areas were a bit more sensitive than others, but it was more ticklish than painful. So far the aftermath hasn’t been too bad; it’s just really red which is normal. The tattoo did turn out to be a bit bigger than I first thought it would be, but in order to get the detail that I wanted this size was better. I don’t regret the bigger size and I think it fits just right! I like it and I know it will start to look better soon (also reacted to the tape so it looks a bit rough on some places). The tattoo artist was really calm and gentle, and 55 minutes later it was done. 3 hours later I got to take the tape off and admire myself in the mirror ;)

So what’s next? What am I going to do for the last two months in Australia? I’m possibly going to volunteer at a dog shelter, travel as much as I can and hopefully write more about my time in Australia and what I’ve learned and do work for AFS if they need me.

Tomorrow we are going to New Norcia for the wildflower season. New Norcia is about 2 hours away from Perth. We’re just going for the weekend, so that I can help out with AFS the week after and Bruce has to go back to work as well.

After graduation in November we are going back to Kalbarri because we didn’t get to spend a lot of time in the area when we were there on the road trip before. We found out that there were a lot of activities that we would all enjoy doing, so as we left last time we said that we would try and come back after I finish school (I got signed out for all my stage 1 subject, Dance, Photography, Cooking, Art and because I am not doing WACE I also finished stage 3 English and History)

In Kalbarri we are probably going to do an abseil, skydiving and another quad bike tour. I really enjoyed the last time sitting on the quad with Bruce speeding it up in the corners and Katie following suit and maybe this time I get to drive one myself!
Possibly the week later we are flying over to Sydney and Melbourne for a week and a half. It’s going to be busy but I’m happy that I am getting the chance of seeing as much as I can because I might not come back for a long time!

I think that is it for now, I hope everyone is doing well at home and that the weather isn’t too cold yet! I am looking forward to seeing all of you again (either at Christmas or before that), but I am also a bit sad that I am leaving my friends and life here behind ;)

Catch ya later (alligator)! In a while (crocodile)!

  • 16 Oktober 2014 - 17:31

    Annemarie:

    Thanks! Danielle your tattoo looks great.
    Hope you get the results of youre healthcheck soon, and will you let us all know? If you need a special diet, i can look into it before Christmas dinner...... And ofcoure homecoming!
    Make the most of the last months!
    Love you

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Danielle

Volg mij tijdens mijn High School jaar aan de andere kant van de wereld!

Actief sinds 04 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 2331
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8681

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2014 - 20 December 2014

High School year in Australia

Landen bezocht: